Exodus, The House of Silence, Book 1 By: J.A. Jaken Narrated by: Dan Calley

From a period long ago. Exodus, four rent boys living in a brothel (The House of Silence) by choice.  Things change when one client is refused the desire to purchase on of the boys.

From the blurb:

The House of Silence is an elite male bordello catering to the obscenely rich. No matter how extreme or
mundane the fantasy, the House is rumored to serve. Master Charon employs a group of versatile, beautiful young men, some lewd, some innocent, many with tragic pasts and hidden secrets of their own, who depend on him for safety. Each young man-Vincent, Danny, Reiji, Tam, and more-brings his own history and his own fears to the House of Silence.

This unpredictable mix erupts when danger threatens. A powerful nobleman strikes out at Charon and his staff, seeking to destroy them all if he's not given what he wants: one of the boys to keep for his own.

Genres: M/M erotica, BDSM, suspense/thriller, gothic.

(Content advisory: nonconsensual sex)

Reedkaye's Review:

Exodus is the first I’ve read/listened to by this author.  I had not heard of this author before but I enjoy audio and I really enjoy listening to Dan Calley so when this series was brought to my attention, I had to listen to it.

This is an interesting set up to a series about rent boys and Charon who is their savior and boss.  It is set in a time long ago. The boys are in his brothel, The House of Silence by choice.  His clients are all wealthy powerful and that gives his business quiet approval.  The four boys are introduced with more focus on Danny and Vincent.  The other boys Tam and Reiji play much smaller parts.   Things get out of hand when one of the clients want to purchase one of the boys.  Even though this client is very powerful, Charon refuses and then the problems for him, his house and the boys begin.  I enjoyed this except in ends in a big cliffhanger.  I am anxious for the next book.

Rating: 5 Stars

Exodus is available to buy from Audible and is Whispersynced.